RSS Feed

Count Your Blessings

I think about it often,but not often do I acknowledge them.Yesterday I received a text message on my phone from a dear friend,it goes like this:

“If you have food in your fridge,clothes on your back,a roof over your head,and a place to sleep,you are richer than 75% of the entire world.

If you have money in your wallet,a little change and can go anywhere you want,you are among the top 8% of the world wealthy.

If you woke up this morning with more health than illness,you are more blessed than the million people who won’t survive this week and die.

If you can actually read READ this message and understand it,you are more than fortunate than the 3 billion people in the world who cannot see,don’t know English or suffer from being mentally retarded.

Life is not about the grief and the miseries,or whatever else that does not matter,it’s about a thousand other reasons to be happy.”

For a split second after reading this message,I closed my eyes and thanked  God.And prayed for all of humanity.

There are people in this world who have all the luxuries in the world and are not satisfied and are perpetually melancholic,and also people in the world who have meagre commodities which merely suffices their basic needs and still are in constant blithe mode.

We usually tend to take the most essential people/things in our lives for granted.For instance,when I was at my Boarding School,I yearned to be in the comfort of my home,where I don’t have to tend to laundry,and other so-called trivial details of my life,I languished my mother’s unconditional love and Papa’s constant advice he showered me with,I missed the juvenile bouts with my siblings.Howling over the weekly five-minute call,I repeatedly told them how much I missed them.But as soon as I would step back in at home,I would become the Tantrum Queen that they did not deserve.I was quite the brat,I know.=P.

And writing this in secrecy(don’t tell Papa),I usually take my telephone,my wallet,my clothes,my shoes and all the other stuff in my room for granted too.Nothing of the sort,that I lose any,but I misplace it in my OWN room.One of the shoe must be in my sister’s and other in Mumma-Papa’s room.Or even my beloved iPod,the last time I checked,it was in my dog’s bed.(Yes!I am grossed out too!Any idea how to sanitize it?).I sincerely wish that every non-living thing could be given a missed call to find it under the clutter I call my room.

I know I am not really much of a help in counting my own blessings,but I am learning to practice what I preach.

I set my room everyday(trying to!),greet my Daddy with a warm tight hug every morning,and thank him for all that I have.(I am still but unemployed).And not just the material prospects but the unconditional love that they have showered me with,every tantrum they bore graciously,and loved me even though I take them for a ride sometimes.

Same is the case with my friends,my unacceptable behavior of not keeping in touch too often or misdeeds done which hurt them,put me through some brutal well-deserving tests.In case,you are reading this,I am trying to improve,I will not take you for granted EVER,you mean the world to me,you are the umbrella when it rains and the companion when I am alone.I dearly love you.

Today,when the Sun rose,I thanked God for the bright sunlight on this chilly winter day,and prayed that all,my family,my friends,the readers of this post,and the rest of the world be as blessed as I feel today.

So,thank you all for checking in today,see ya tomorrow.

Much love and Blessings.(I feel saintly with all these Blessing dispensation,=P)

About theresolutionprojectblog

In this eternal spasm of timeline,we barely devote time to ourselves.My voice seems to possess multitudinous opinions which get buried under the passing time.Captivated with the immense flow of relevations that life proposes in our path.I'm merely a learner who is transitting at every phase,grasping the lesson that life proposes.While life reveals my fate,I am Neha Sarna,just living my ounce of life.

Leave a Reply

