RSS Feed

Happy International Womens’ Day?

I have the worst timing in the world.And now it cannot be restricted solely to my jokes.This post was intended to be penned on March 8,2011,so do accept my sincere apologies.

I remember this quote from Simon de Beauvoir’s ‘The Second Sex’,”A woman is not born but becomes a woman.”Bewildering as it sounds,even in the 22nd century,it stands true.

With the escalating rate of female foeticide/infanticide not just in agrarian states of Haryana and Punjab but in the posh belt of South Delhi.With the escalating rate of rape and assault in the city as well as day to day molestation.’Saddi Dilli’ is the most feared destination for all us female inhabitants.

Restraining myself to the capital city would do injustice to all the complacent women of the small,unknown villages scattered over the country.I reckon going to a village called Byasi where I learnt that girls usually walk 5-10 kilometers in order to reach school and after they reach back home while their brothers are busy playing they provide aid to their mothers in the household chores.Yet,some girls are not as lucky either.

The parda-laden women hiding the scars enduring the wrath their husbands lay upon them so conveniently is not merely a myth,but a shattering reality.My latest find,is from ‘7 Khoon Maaf’ where some men with monsters beneath hide under the garb of ‘softer’ exterior.

It truly devastates me whenever the gender is discriminated against.A girl who has a boy friend must have a ‘loose character’ while a boy/man with many is worthy of a pat on the back.Silly example I know.(I always wanted to mention this one somewhere.)

The funny thing is really,on the day when the world celebrates Happy International Womens’ Day,the men whine that the entire year belongs to them why celebrate this day?Ridiculous? True!

I have never been a big fan of Womens’ Day,but this year,it proved to be an irony of sorts.The murder of Radhika Tanwar was not a shock.Yes!curse me if you please.I was not really shocked.The sorry state of affairs in the country’s capital has resulted in a pitiful state of my mind.

Radhika Tanwar’s murder on Womens’ Day is symbolic of the state of women in my beloved city.The beloved capital is symbolic of my beloved country.Yet I acquisce my heart and soul that we do not suffer as much as we read about in feminist texts or even the books penned by the Arabian princesses.

Do excuse me for I did not intend to mock this day.I am merely an agnostic when it comes to Womens’ Day.

My silver lining?As mentioned yesterday,they did manage to find the psychotic murderer.

The silver lining however lies in the fact that even though as women we need to prove our mettle in quadrople than men,the world is progressing.If there are ghoonghat-laden women there are also women who manage their home in tandem with their hectic jobs.The rate of girls’ being educated has increased drastically,where they are not considered as the traditional liability but an asset.The abject state os affairs is not an illusion but nor is the progressive womenfolk.

From the Chief Minister of the capital city to the C.E.O. of a multinational,women are leaving their indelible mark across the entire country,across the entire globe.

“A woman is” surely “not born but becomes a woman”,to shoulder the responsibilities that no ‘man’ can.

Cheers to Womanhood.=)

About theresolutionprojectblog

In this eternal spasm of timeline,we barely devote time to ourselves.My voice seems to possess multitudinous opinions which get buried under the passing time.Captivated with the immense flow of relevations that life proposes in our path.I'm merely a learner who is transitting at every phase,grasping the lesson that life proposes.While life reveals my fate,I am Neha Sarna,just living my ounce of life.

4 responses »

  1. Nice one!!

    Am a man myself and don’t seem to have no qualms about agreeing with you one bit. Delhi has gone beserk! What percentage of the actual occurances do you think get reported?? I would stick my neck out and say 10% at best. I read about a rape a day in Delhi…Thanks to Times of India. Imagine how many are actually suffering…

    Deviating a bit… I hate the Times of India… They seem to be selling the words ‘Rape’, ‘Molest’, ‘Suicide’ and ‘Murder’ more than anybody else.

    I don’t know anything about women being a born women or becoming one in time… But I think they have an invaluable place in the cycle of life and Yes, they deserve more than just a day…

    Happy Women’s Day anyway!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

