RSS Feed

A Different Kind of Ending

I always have and always shall dread the Summers,here in India at the least.Never been the biggest fan of the season,not when I was in school,where we had a Common Cooler for the dormitory till we were 16 nor back at home,in Delhi,where everyday pollution of the metropolis aggravates the heat.So,as my exams came to an end on May 31st,I decided to bask in the sublimity of nothingness.I wanted it to last a week,but succumbing to what my peers termed it ‘last set of summer holidays ever’,I let it prolong the entire month.

I was supposed to finish some books over the month,and lose a little(make that a lot now) weight in these holidays and mostly,write a lot.Write on my blog,write poetry,and do some writing for myself.That didn’t happen either.I lacked inspiration,I was constantly explaining to myself to the sole reason transpiring as a consequence of my writer’s block.I’m going to be honest with whatever handful of readers I have left,and mostly me,that I was simply being lazy.Evading the process.And I sincerely apologise for that.

In one of bleak moments of lethargy where was my mind was caught up in dealing with multiple thoughts in tandem with each other,I wondered,why do I watch my favorite sitcom or a sad RomCom again,I know that how the drama-licious sitcom shall terminate and that in my fav RomCom,the couple are either to reunite and end the movie with a kiss,or if its Nicholas Sparks,one of the protagonist is bound to die,leaving with nothing but blinkers saturated with tears and with the thought that love,in today’s times too can unadulterated and divine.

I wondered,I probably hope,I might have watched ‘A Walk To Remember’ in desperate hope that Jamie survives her Cancer and that Landon and Jamie live happily,for the rest of their lives.But every god-forsaken time I watch that movie I end up feeling remorse for the hapless lovers arduously fighting to keep each other alive (physically for Jamie,and mentally for Landon in this context).

Of the countless times I have watched this movie ever since I was a teen,I have hoped for a different ending,each time.This led me to thinking,do we wish to change the ending of such sad stories because we believe we can change our stories too?Do we wish to re-write our past,or maybe scribble a little,which would probably make our present a little more amiable.I have always wondered that,if I could make the slightest alteration in my past,maybe my present would have turned out to be different( good different,mind you).That boy I should never have broken up with in school,or maybe chosen a different career,or would have fought to go and study abroad.All these choices baffle me sometimes.But then I think my past was once my present.My present which is now,I CHOOSE to do what I do with it.Maybe,I can’t rewrite my past,but I learnt from it.Learnt lessons to make good, better choices for my present.I would call myself foolish if I repeat the same mistakes again,but today is a clean slate and I think now I know why I always pine for a different ending.

So I’m just going to leave you with a thought,and hope we all coagulate the courage to fight for the choices we wish to makes,

Laziness is a bliss,till the devil decides to set his workshop.

About theresolutionprojectblog

In this eternal spasm of timeline,we barely devote time to ourselves.My voice seems to possess multitudinous opinions which get buried under the passing time.Captivated with the immense flow of relevations that life proposes in our path.I'm merely a learner who is transitting at every phase,grasping the lesson that life proposes.While life reveals my fate,I am Neha Sarna,just living my ounce of life.

4 responses »

  1. Well written Neha !!! Now …get up and get hold of some entrepreneurs and write their success stories…. could be from any strata of society. Choose a theme and write the story around it.. Mail it to rakshabharadia@gmail.com
    Chicken Soup for the Indian Entrepreneur’s soul

    A Chicken Soup for the Soul story is an inspirational, true story about ordinary people doing extraordinary things. They are personal and often filled with emotion and drama.

    Chicken Soup for the Soul stories have a beginning, middle and an ending that often closes with a punch, creating emotion rather than simply talking about it.

    The most powerful stories are about people extending themselves, or performing an act of love, service or courage for another person.

    Guidelines

    1. Tell an exciting, sad or funny story about something that has happened to you or someone you know. Make sure that you introduce the character(s).

    2. The story should start with action; it should include a problem, issue or situation. It should include dialogue and the characters should express their feelings through the conflict or situation. It should end in a result, such as a lesson learned, a positive change or pay-off.

    What a Chicken Soup for the Soul story IS NOT:

    1. A sermon, an essay or eulogy.

    3. A term paper, thesis, letter or journal entry.

    4. About politics or controversial issues.

    5. A biography or testimonial.

    Story Specifications

    1. Stories and poems must be non-fiction and should be no longer than 1,200 words.

    2. Please submit only stories or poems that have not been previously published.

    Details…

    Last dates for accepting submissions: 31st July 2013.

    The write-ups will carry the contributor ’s name. Westland pays Rs. 1000 per story and two copies of the book.

    Some themes for Entrepreneurs Soul

    A moment of clarity

    Fun at work

    Thinking out of the box

    Having faith/ believing in your dream

    Having courage/Taking risks

    Against all odds

    When the going gets tough

    Management – Time, people, stress, self

    Building Team spirit

    Stories of Leadership

    Life lessons

    Overcoming adversities

    Balancing work and home

    Wearing many hats

    Determination

    Growing a business

    Dealing with wanting to give up

    Getting the investor to believe in you

    Outsourcing/delegation (outsourcing your weakness)

    Work smart if not hard

    Being an innovator

    Decision making

    Change with the changing times

    Reply

Leave a Reply

